Eddie

Hi. My name is Eddie. I am a 5 year old beautiful black Greyhound. Due to no fault of my own I have come back into care and am looking for my new forever home.

I am a very happy and sociable boy who loves nothing more than being silly with my foster greyhound siblings, playing with my favorite toys and cuddling up to my humans.

I love my daily playtime. I will either play fetch, wrestle the toys with my siblings or do what my parents call “zoomies” were I run really fast up and down the yard. Because I am so fast, I will need a medium to large yard; preferably flat where I can run free.

During playtime I am a very polite boy and I won’t growl or misbehave if my siblings steal my toys.

Since I am still an active boy, in addition to afternoon play times I like to go on daily walks. As my breed are “short burst energy” types, we only need 30 minutes of exercise a day. Any longer than this will tire me out too much.

On walks I can be very excitable and pull for the first 10 minutes. I will need someone strong to walk me. When I encounter small, squeaky or fluffy animals I can get very excited and forget my size when trying to play with them. I will need to keep a bit of distance from these types during my walks.

I love spending time with my humans just as much as I do with my siblings. I like to follow my humans wherever they go; even if it’s from one room to the other. If I can see my humans, I am happy.

I’m an inside dog and at night I sleep either on a doggy bed on the floor in the bedroom OR on the lounge with my siblings (my humans leave their door open so I can still see them).

I don’t cope well as an outside dog or when left alone for extended periods of time so I need to be an inside dog and I would highly benefit from having a medium to large playmate to keep me company.

I am toilet trained and will notify my parents by standing at the back door. If they don’t get the hint, I will nudge them then run to the back door and repeat this process until they understand. I try my hardest to hold on for as long as possible if I can’t go outside.

At dinner time I am very behaved and will sit or lay down until my food is ready. I will wait for you to give me permission by staring at you before I start eating. I am not food aggressive and currently eat next to three other dogs. I don’t steal the other dog’s food and sometimes have even let the other dogs take over and eat my food (I look at my parents for help when this happens)

I am great in the car and will lay down until we reach our destination. I don’t get car sick and have never had any accidents in the car.

In summary I will be best suited to a medium to high level activity couple or family who are willing to put in the time and effort I deserve. I need to be an inside dog who has access to my humans and preferably a medium to large play mate. I will need a family with no pocket pets, small dogs or cats.

For more information or to meet Eddie, please contact his foster carer Vanessa on 0401614510 or [email protected] Eddie is in foster care in Largs (near Maitland, NSW) and is available for adoption interstate. You can also fill out the adoption questionnaire here https://tinyurl.com/drnadopt

Eddie’s adoption fee is $250 and he is desexed, vaccinated, treated for fleas and worms, microchipped, and lifetime registered.

Profile

  • Gender Male
  • Colour Black
  • Age 4 years 10 months
  • Adoption Fee $250
  • Desexed Yes
  • Located Largs, NSW
  • Available for interstate adoption? Yes

Adoption process

The first step is to look at the profiles of our available dogs and find one or more that you might want to adopt.

Fill out our online Adoption Questionnaire: https://tinyurl.com/drnadopt. You only need to fill it out once and you can list the names of multiple dogs that you would like to inquire about. If there is a phone number listed in the dog’s profile then you can also phone for more information.

Arrange to meet the pet, usually near the foster carer’s home.

If that goes well we will arrange a property check so we can verify that your home and yard are suitable for the pet you’ve selected. (Sometimes we’ll do the property check before you meet the pet).

If both sides agree, then you can adopt your new family member! When you pick up your new pet, you will be asked to:
- sign our Adoption Agreement,
- sign a NSW Companion Animals Register-Change of Owner/Details form, and
- pay the Adoption Fee by bank cheque or direct debit to Newcastle Permanent BSB: 650 000 Account: 503087208. Sorry, no personal cheques. *If paying by direct debit include the name of the pet and your surname as a comment. Make the transfer at least 24 hours before picking up your pet so we can confirm receipt. Also, please print a receipt and bring it with you.

No cash payments will be taken at any point. If you have to pay by cash please visit a local Newcastle permanent branch and directly deposit into our account. Please bring the receipt when you come to pick up your new family member. (No Receipt No Handover)

This is just a guide. Special arrangements and variations to the procedure are made when you live outside the Newcastle/Lake Macquarie area. Most of our pets are available for interstate adoption. Please contact us about this procedure.

Listed by

Dog Rescue Newcastle on November 10, 2019

Enquire about Eddie

You need to be logged in to submit this form. If you haven't already created an account, it only takes a moment to register. We won't send you unsolicited emails, there's no cost, and there's no catch. To register, just go here: https://www.everygreyhound.com.au/create-account